absolute beginners

nap solo
nap solo Posts: 16
edited April 2009 in MTB beginners
hello all...two things, firstly due to cycling 10miles from home and getting a puncture i am eager to find what equipment people take and "dont leave home without" for a bike ride. Advice and tips appreciated. secondly since fixing my puncture ( and to my amazement its actually stayed inflated ) i noticed my tyre size was 26 x 2.25 52/52....does this then mean my inner tube must be the same 26 x 2.25 ? I need to buy one u see.... and whats the 52/52 all about. thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
    Things I always carry, even for a short ride are:
      Pump Spare tubes Tyre levers Drink Multitool (including a chain tool) and connecting links. Cable ties Waterproof Phone

For a longer ride I also include a first aid kit, glueless tube patches, tyre boot patches, spare brake pads and springs, rear mech hanger and food.

The tubes cover a range of tyre sizes so yes you'll need to find one that covers 26 x 2.25 (the 26 is the wheel diameter and the 2.25 the tyre width). No idea what the 52/52 is. Personally I'd really recommend carrying spare tubes, levers and pump as a bare minimum.
    It's easier to ask for forgiveness than for permission.

I've bought a new bike....ouch - result
    Can I buy a new bike?...No - no result
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Have a look at THIS THREAD (linky, click on it to be transported there...!)
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • brownix
    brownix Posts: 115
    most innertube you buy from the bikeshop will fit in a 2.25 tyre because thats about the average size (i think)
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    brownix wrote:
    most innertube you buy from the bikeshop will fit in a 2.25 tyre because thats about the average size (i think)