Liddle Accessories - Cheap rubbish or a real bargain?

deadsetgav
deadsetgav Posts: 39
edited April 2009 in MTB beginners
Hey folks

I'm pretty new to Mountain Bikes (bought my first one last Sunday)

Anyways, I've noticed that Liddle are knocking out a bunch of cheap cycling accessories (on their website, under 'specials')

I wondered if the toolkit, repair kit and pump were worth picking up at this price - or is it a case of you get what you pay for, and better off buying branded stuff from a dedicated cycle shop?

The cycle computer looks like it is wired so I'm guessing its probably worth paying extra for a wireless one?

I wasn't sure if I should post a link (I'm not spamming!)

Comments

• dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    With tools of any kind, you get what you pay for. In general, cheap tools = crap tools.

That said, if they're cheap enough and they break you haven't lost much. But again, you also risk damaging components or even injuring yourself if a tool snaps or rounds off while you're using it.

BTW, if you aren't sure if you should be posting or not, try searching for the topic you're posting about and see if anyone else has asked similar questions. If they haven't, post away! You might get a gentle prod in the right direction if you've posted wrongly, but that's about it!

Read the forum rules and posting guidelines in any case.
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • Yeah - I didn't really want to post a direct link in one of my first posts, cause its gonna just look like spam.

Take your point about cheap tools

I guess I need to be asking 'do i really want to lock up a £500 bike with a £2 bike lock?'
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Answer = no!! : :lol:
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • dav1
    dav1 Posts: 1,298
    I bought that tool kit last year and am still very happy that I did being on a budget.