Mavic Kysrium Equipes - any good?

gabriel959
gabriel959 Posts: 4,227
edited April 2009 in Road buying advice
I was going to get some Mavic Aksiums but these are not that much more expensive - what do you guys reckon about them? I am 6 foot 6 and 15stone so I need a pretty durable wheel that is not going to fall into pieces. Anyone heavy got them? Any opinions.
cheers
x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
Commuting / Winter rides - Jamis Renegade Expert
Pootling / Offroad - All-City Macho Man Disc
Fast rides Cannondale SuperSix Ultegra

Comments

• paulieb2006
    paulieb2006 Posts: 318
    Got them 3 weeks ago. I like them. Am 15 1/2 stone and havent any problems with them yet. No doubt someone will say they are crap but I say go for it
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    I've no experience of them so feel free to take the next comment with a pinch of salt:

They are a solid reliable wheelset, but nothing special in the weight and aero departments.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • DaSy
    DaSy Posts: 599
    I had some a while back, the plus sides were that they are the usual Mavic bomproof wheels that stay true even after abuse. They look nice

On the minus side, as they are steel rather than Zircal spokes they flex a fair bit laterally, so I tended to get a bit of brake rub on out of saddle climbs and sprints.

The bearing pre-load is via lock nuts and loctite, rather than the nice pre-load spanner type of affair on the higher end Ksyriums. Once adjusted after the initial bearing bedding in from new though, they tend to be okay for a fair while, but adjusting is more of a faff.

All in all they are a good wheel, tough and reliable.
    Complicating matters since 1965
  • gabriel959
    Thanks for the reply guys!

Do you think they are worth the extra dosh over the Mavic Aksiums though?

Wheels are mainly going to be used for commuting, some TTs and the odd club run!

Cheers,
    Gabriel
    x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
  • DaSy