Lakeland Loop anyone?

Higs
Higs Posts: 105
Anyone else looking forward to this one?

I never did get up to the Lakes to practice on Hardknott and Wrynose.
I've been off the bike (and running, gym etc) for a fortnight after a minor op.
I've got a 28T cassette but haven't fitted it and don't know if it will work with my (reasonably new) chain.
I've never done a Sportive before.

But apart from the above I'm quite looking forward to it.
Higs

Comments

• Ed_Bear
    Ed_Bear Posts: 5
    I am doing this too. Hardknott was a shock to my sytem last year.

I'm hoping to fair better as I got cramp in both legs halfway up! :shock:

I was making reasonable progress on 34/25 combo. Are you running a 34 or 39 on the front Higs? It is a great ride with awesome scenery.

My advice would be to go easy on the descents of Hardknott and Wrynose if you've not done them before as they are so steep and quite bumpy.
  • Higs
    34 on the front.

I'm not too worried about the downs - I'm a mountainbiker really so don't mind a bit of steep and bumpy!
    Higs
  • NUFCrichard
    NUFCrichard Posts: 103
    I'll be there... not really looking forward to Hardknott to be honest, no matter how tired I am or how steep it is I don't like getting off and pushing, but that seems like a pipe dream even with my 34/27!
  • Me.
    I will be there again.

I am not sure if not knowing what to expect was a benefit last year, this year i know i should be OK with Red Bank, and Whinlatter, but Hardknott and Wrynose will be wlaked. And the last leittle beast towards the end should kill off any ambition of a good time.
    I hope to get back before the time keeper clears off at 5pm this year.

Its a toughie but great scenery.
    Just a fat bloke on a bike
  • pugwashcp
    pugwashcp Posts: 120
    I'm in. :D

Hoping to have my summer bike ready (weather permitting) for this one. Rode the long route of the Cheshire Cat on my winter bike and it was HARD work!!