Noob here - HEY! Will need advice for a BIG Ride

incurab1e
incurab1e Posts: 84
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Hey!

I've been riding just over a year and so am just about up to speed with most things involved - however, my max 1 day ride is 50miles so far.

In July, myself and 3 mates, are riding from the midlands to paris over 5 days - Avg. 85miles per day.

I am wondering if anyone has any advice for us. My biggest problem so far since the weather has got nice enough to ride in, is my Ass pain after 40 or so miles. I am going to persevere with what i have and see if it gets better with more saddle time.

I am riding a Bianchi c2c nirone alu-hybrid 2008.

we're gradually going to be ramping the mileage up over the next few weeks until we get to 85 - then a week after that we may try and do 85miles on back to back days.

So, any particualr training/nutrition/gear tips you guys can dish out? Any advice would be greatly appreciated

thanks
Andy

Comments

• kilo
    kilo Posts: 174
    Sorry I don't know what your bike is like but I would suggest starting with clip in pedals and proper cycling shoes and then investing in good quality,well fitting cycling shorts and possibly chamois cream as well. You may want to think about a new saddle if the pain is really bad but as you mention you may just need to toughen up your butt.
    The idea of gradualy ramping the mileage up is good and the back to back days of cycling is a definite. Your not doing massive mileage but the cumulative effect of day in day riding and waking up with heavy legs may be a problem. On the little long riding I've done on hybrids / mountain bikes I've used bar ends to give a variety of hand positions, you may even be able to fit some cheap tri bars on to give you a bit of a tuck position.
  • robmanic1
    robmanic1 Posts: 2,150
    Good quality, padded pants + lashings of Assos will make your bunghole a better place.