advice for 1st road bike (Boardman team carbon)

jaffajim0
jaffajim0 Posts: 18
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
I am about to buy a Boardman team carbon on the cycle 2 work scheme, it looks about the best bike that my money will get me, (has to be halfords) and am looking for some advice as it will be my 1st road bike. I was apprehensive about going for a road bike as I sometimes struggle with comfort on my hardtail which is more upright but having read some threads about comfort I have learned the importance of getting the right size bike for me and to get it set correctly. The seat looks like a razor blade :shock: , is there anything I can do to make it more comfortable i.e. padded undies/shorts, do they make that much difference? Are the Continental gp4000 tyres the best for the bike to keep me away from punctures as much as possible? As I said, I am a beginner to road bikes so any help on these points and anything any body thinks will be helpful would be great.

Comments

• STEFANOS4784
    STEFANOS4784 Posts: 4,109
    You can change the seat to any one you like. Also remember that Halfords don't always get shining reports back on the way certain staff members set bikes up. It seems dependent on the skill of individuals in store so make sure they know what they're on about or, better still, take it to a local bike shop for a once over.
  • jaffajim0
    jaffajim0 Posts: 18
    You can change the seat to any one you like. Also remember that Halfords don't always get shining reports back on the way certain staff members set bikes up. It seems dependent on the skill of individuals in store so make sure they know what they're on about or, better still, take it to a local bike shop for a once over.
    How much would an lbs charge to do a complete set up?
  • Tempestas
    Tempestas Posts: 486
    Good bikes once set up correctly, some branches get slated and others have experienced staff so check the bike thoroughly before signing for it.