Carbon wrap -what's the point?

dombo6
dombo6 Posts: 582
edited April 2009 in Road buying advice
Can somebody please explain the point of alloy bars/seatposts etc that are then wrapped in carbon? I am looking at replacing my bars and a shop guy showed me some carbon-wrapped but could not adequately explain the benefits.
I can see the benefits of an all carbon or all alloy bar but surely wrapping it gives no benefit other than aesthetic? But then I'm not a materials scientist so perhaps am missing something.

Comments

• it looks nice. That's it.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Looks nice, but can also make them stiffer if done right and also, allegedly, absorb vibration. I have a full FSA carbon bar and a FSA alloy wrapped in carbon stem on my bestbike and they are nicer to hold on a long ride on than my all aluminium affair on my trainer bike.

But generally, it's aesthetic.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    It's significantly easier / cheaper to wrap carbon round an aluminium former - this is a commonly used technique in aerospace to improve strength / fatigue life without big weight gains. Of course, there are some parts which are purely cosmetic.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    It allows the manufacturer to get away with charging more
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • gtitim
    gtitim Posts: 225
    In my experience, all it does it add a little extra weight and a lot of extra cost. Looks nice though :?
  • I'm glad that people have seen through this one.
  • giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    I can't see every dealer selling carbon wrapped products and letting the customer know it's not pure carbon fibre. I'm sure people have been fooled before now ....
  • kozzo
    kozzo Posts: 182
    edited March 2009
    I had ITM Forged Lite White Carbon

Bar Stem Seatpost

I changed for Ritchey WCS alu
    I didn't like the shape of ITM bar