Littleborough / Watergrove

deadsetgav
deadsetgav Posts: 39
edited March 2009 in Routes
Hi folks

First time poster and as of yesterday... first time bike owner.

I live in Littleborough and have been after getting a bike for ages to take up and around the bridleways near Watergrove. Finally bought one yesterday!

As I am completely new to this (bikes and the local area in general) I wondered if anyone had any advice of a decent beginners route? (I saw a few people seemed familiar with the place in a couple of other threads)

Also - are there any off limits areas around here or is it all pretty much fair game as long as you stick to the pathways / roads?

Sorry for being a total noob - but I guess its better to get grief on a forum than have some crazed farmer chasing after me in a tractor waiving his shotgun about for being on his laaaarnd!...

Comments

• dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Oh lordy, here we go again... :lol:

You're lucky living where you do! We've got some of the best riding in the country. Not many people know it except the locals, so let's keep it that way, eh?

Basically, the rules of thumb are -

Know your Public Rights of Way - you need to be able to distinguish between public footpaths; public bridleways; Roads Used as Public Paths (RUPPs) and Byways Open to All Traffic (BOATs). Best way to do this is to get a copy of Ordnance Survey Explorer Map number OL21 (from all good bookshops, outdoor shops and some newsagents). Learn to read it.

STAY OFF PUBLIC FOOTPATHS!!! I cannot stress this enough. Because of various archaic laws and court cases which I can't be arsed going into here, a bicycle is classed in law as a carriage. Carriages are not allowed on public footpaths. Simple as. There are whys and wherefores which I'll explain one day when you're old enough if you have a couple of weeks to spare, but for now, that's all you need to know.

None of the above applies in Scotland.