New saddle with middle hole

mobilis
mobilis Posts: 65
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
I'm a recreational novice road biker.
I'm considering a saddle with a hole in the middle for health reasons. (like this http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=22000)
What's your opinion about this kind of saddles, in terms of cmfort for maximum 3 hours use?

Can you suggest a saddle for me with these characteristics:
1) Maximum width 135mm
2) Italian manufacturer (I have an italian bike)
3) Middle hole
4) Under 45 GBP.

Comments

• softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    I don't quite understand why you are asking people to suggest a suitable saddle when you have already posted a link to one which seems to fit your criteria..??
  • andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165
    I would suggest comfort should be the highest priority, and not what company makes it.

Look for saddles that offer a trial period, or try as many different saddles as you can from mates. Then let your bum decide, not your fashion bone.
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • jibberjim
    jibberjim Posts: 2,810
    mobilis wrote:
    I'm a recreational novice road biker.
    I'm considering a saddle with a hole in the middle for health reasons. (like this http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=22000)
    What's your opinion about this kind of saddles, in terms of cmfort for maximum 3 hours use?

I have it on one of my bikes, I find it very comfortable, I actually find the Selle Italia C2 I have also more comfortable, very similar shape, but the padding is less spongy - and it's leather - but still under your budget at wiggle.
    Jibbering Sports Stuff: http://jibbering.com/sports/
  • mobilis
    mobilis Posts: 65
    softlad wrote:
    I don't quite understand why you are asking people to suggest a suitable saddle when you have already posted a link to one which seems to fit your criteria..??