re-fitting tyre

jmeadows
jmeadows Posts: 335
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
after 5 weeks on the road i had my 1st puncture on sunday, got a tube today, levered tyre off(vredestein handmade), bit of air in new tube, fitted one side of tire onto wheel, fitted tube in, then worked otherside of tube on.
trouble was the last 6-12" of tire was hell to get back on and i didnt want to lever it incase i nicked the tube.
should it be that tough to get back on? is the trick to it? i used to ride mtb and obviously the tire was easy to get back because there is a lot to grip.
i was trying to imagine myself doing it roadside, it took about 30 min!
i am a plumber too so my grip is pretty strong, any ideas please?? :?
never hurts your eyes to look on the bright side of life...

Comments

• Smokin Joe
    Smokin Joe Posts: 2,706
    I use a tyre lever if nescessary, but take care. Make sure you use the blunt end to push the tube away from the tyre bead before you lever it on.
  • crankycrank
    crankycrank Posts: 1,830
    This works great for tight fitting tyres. http://www.bikeplus.co.uk/cgi-bin/quiks ... YS42&and=1
  • Shezzer
    Shezzer Posts: 229
    Don't worry about it ... I very much doubt you're doing anything wrong. I've found that some wheel / tyre combinations make it pretty difficult (nigh on impossible) to refit the tyre without using a tyre lever yet others are a piece of cake.

On my training bike I use Easton EA50SL wheels with Schwalbe tyres and the fit is so tight I have to use metal tyre levers to prise the tyre back on. The same tyres on my Mavic Kysrium ES wheels go on with thumb power alone, no problem.

It's fine to use levers if you need to but just be a bit careful not to pinch the tube.
  • Jay dubbleU
    Jay dubbleU Posts: 3,159
    Semi inflating the tube before you put the second side of the tyre back on reduces the chances of it being pinched by the tyre lever
  • jmeadows
    jmeadows Posts: 335