Could Cavendish win the TDF ????

tobh
tobh Posts: 103
edited March 2009 in Pro race
Sorry. I'm kinda new to this road bkiing business.

But, could Cavendish win the TDF

I know he, supposedly, cant do the climbs, but....

Comments

• iainf72
    iainf72 Posts: 15,784
    No, he can't.

He can't climb and is not the right kind of rider to be win grand tours. He'll be able to get a clutch of stages but he's not one to finish high overall.
    Fckin' Quintana … that creep can roll, man.
  • afx237vi
    afx237vi Posts: 12,630
    tobh wrote:

There's "not being able to climb" and then there's being a sprinter. Sprinters generally finish 2 to 3 hours behind the winner of the Tour de France. They're in different leagues altogether.
  • TheStone
    TheStone Posts: 2,291
    Yes, if everyone else retired before the end. Otherwise no.

He'll have a great shout at the green (sprinters) jersey in his career - maybe soon.
    I'd expect them to set up the 2012 olympic road race course to suit him.
    exercise.png
  • The best he can hope for is becoming a Kelly-esque rider, but thar's only with A LOT of work in the next 5 years
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Maybe the World Champs or a Green Jersey, but never the TdF. Completely different type of riders win grand tours...
  • tobh
    tobh Posts: 103
    so. again, please ignore this - possibly silly question- but is there anyone British who could win it ?
  • Ben Swift(Katyusha) and Johnny Bellis(Saxo Bank) are two to look out for.

Don't know much about him but apparantly Ian Stannard (ISD) is half decent
  • afx237vi
    Just to be clear here - just because he will never win the Tour, that doesn't make him any less of a great rider. He's just a different type.

Think of it like different types of footballers - just because Paolo Maldini never scored a hat-trick doesn't make him a rubbish footballer. He just excelled on a different part of the pitch.
  • Kléber
    Kléber Posts: 6,842