Anyone here work for Occupational Health in the NHS?

chuckcork
chuckcork Posts: 1,471
edited March 2009 in The bottom bracket
I've got a query.

Why if I'm to work in facilities management, will be doing no work involving heavy lifting, have minimal contact with patients, be not handling any body fluids of any kind, be basically fit and healthy in all regards, is there "a need for further medical details, so I am not passed as fit"?

If I can hop on my bike and ride 100km I'm fit!
'Twas Mulga Bill, from Eaglehawk, that caught the cycling craze....

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    I am not in HR but I am a manual handling trainer for nurses.

Have you got a back problem?

Why do you presume you will not be passed as fit?

If you did have a back problem, then this would form part of the employer's risk assessment for manual handling (the "Individual Capability" section). Instead of discriminating against you, their duty is to make the work safe for you, and if your injury couldbe classed as a long term disability (under the Disability Discrimination Act) then their duty would be to make "reasonable adjustments" to your work so that you can undertake it.

(I have a disability under the DDA, but I am a keen cyclist and walker).

More information?
  • chuckcork
    I'd be in facilities management, the only lifting I would expect to do in a days work would be a coffee cup (RSI a risk here?). Maybe other things, but it will be an office based environment and role so limited to that, I certainlty would not be expecting to lift patients, anymore than anyone out in the street would be expected to have to be able to pick someone up before they are allowed to go to work.

I expect that I will be passed as fit, that the questions is even raised however, with all the attendant delays so beloved of bureaucrats, is strange?
  • alfablue