Waterproofs?

cat_with_no_tail
cat_with_no_tail Posts: 12,981
edited March 2009 in Commuting chat
First off, I'm a noob here so, Hi all :D

Does anyone have any experience with Altura Attack 3/4 "waterproof" trousers?

I recently bought a pair for the ride to work based on the top reviews they have received. Used them for the first time in proper rain (and wind) this morning. It was only a 2 mile commute, took just over 7mins yet when I arrived at work they were wet through. No waterproof properties whatsoever.

Needless to say, they are going back at the very soonest opportunity, but question is, what do I go for next?

Is it likely that this was just a cr*p pair that someone forgot to make 'waterproof' or is this what I can expect if I just get a replacement pair?

If so, what alternatives are there that will actually work? (not a fan of overtrousers)

Cheers,

Matt

Comments

• always_tyred
    always_tyred Posts: 4,965
    To my mind, you have 2 alternatives - you either get wet from the outside, or from the inside, i.e. you either forget about waterproofs and try to keep warm, but accept you will get wet, or wear waterproofs and accept that you are going to get hot and sweaty.

My only experience with Altura "waterproof" gear is a paif of waterproof gloves that really are in breach of the trades description act. Sorry I can't be more positive.
  • Greg T
    Greg T Posts: 3,266
    Matt,

Most people just resign themselves to getting wet legs and bums - anything that will keep rain out at 20 mph will have you brewing up inside in no time at all and weigh a ton.

Unless you are made out of Lithium you wont suffer too badly from an occasional soaking and your skin is entirey waterproof.

welcome by the way
    Fixed gear for wet weather / hairy roadie for posing in the sun.

What would Thora Hurd do?
  • il_principe
    il_principe Posts: 9,155