Introduction / Some Advice Please

alesis
alesis Posts: 4
edited March 2009 in MTB beginners
Hello All,

I'm pretty new to MTBiking and i've just purchased a GT Agressor XC3 '08. Its a pretty standard bike but for the money I had it's sufficient and value for money.

I'm looking for some advice on how I can make my bike lighter / better. Where could I start? I've read a few threads on other sites but alot we talking about changing the suspension system or frame. I'm not willing to do that right now (£££ is tight!!) but maybe at some point in the future. I know it may sound ludicrous but I don't want to look like a complete novice on my bike straight out of Halfords, so its time to mod mod mod.

If I were to change the pedals and tyres / rims would this help? Im also looking to change the pedals for other reasons, mainly because I don't like the crappy standard pedals that the bike came with. Basically i'm looking to develop and modify this bike bit by bit but i don't know where to start.

I've also just registered to do the London to Brighton bike ride this year and I want as little weight as possible. Someone suggested I should change my MB typres for some road tyres and it seems like a logicial idea but will it actually make a difference? and why? Oh and I was also hoping someone could recommend me some good quality road tyres for this 50 mile treak.

Sorry about the 21 questions! Thanks in advance guys,

Loving the site BTW :wink:

Nice one

Dave Ale

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    To be honest, it might be easier to get a new bike by the time you have upgraded this one.

Though you can make a couple of easy changed like the tyres for instance, and the padals to say Wellgo MG1.

Changing the rims would mean a new set of wheels really - looking at about 130 quid minimum before you start seeing the weight drop, and 150 for the fork (though it will be a better performer too).