GT Avalanche 3.0 disk 08 model

matt2085
matt2085 Posts: 25
edited March 2009 in MTB beginners
Hey guys,
How would you guys rate this bike? anyone have any first hand experience with this model? if not how does the spec look?

first off I'm a total newb to MTB but I know this isn't going to be the best bike in the world! I don't have ££££££ to spend on an amazing bike.

I'm mainly just looking for something to do XC and maybe smash around some trails without falling apart.

Thanks, Matt

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Ok, if a little heavy. How much have you seen it for? Can you try it first?
  • matt2085
    wow fast reply lol!

£280 new from www.paulscycles.co.uk in the offers

can't try first as they're based in Norwich and can't find anywhere else that stocks these as new :(

Thanks, Matt
  • supersonic
    Do you have a local Halfords? Check out the Carrear Kraken and the GT Aggressors in there, both superior bikes really! But the Avalanche is OK, the fork just not as good as on the other two.
  • matt2085
    yeah I have a halfords local, but my budget is £300 max, and those are a little (or £100) too much :( I have other stuff to buy too like a helmet and backpack - so don;t want to spend more.

and I actually like the look of the avalanche 3.0 has a nice look about it, just wanting to make sure it's upto the job before laying out £280

Thanks, Matt
  • supersonic
    Vulcans are 300, and after just checking it does seem the Aggressors have gone up.

If you like the Avalanche, how about a 2.0 for the same money?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=29070

Doesn't get disc brakes, but better forks and some lighter parts.
  • xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    If you like the Avalanche, how about a 2.0 for the same money?
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=29070
    Doesn't get disc brakes, but better forks and some lighter parts.
    And it's disc ready. So later you can put good hydro brakes than those