commencal disc normal 09..newbie needs advice

mgmvegas
mgmvegas Posts: 10
edited March 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi There - i'm a complete newbie to MTB and my wife and I are in the process of purchasing 2 Commencal normal 09 bikes can anyone re-assure me that these are
a decent bike and we won't need to upgrade within 6 months if we get the bug ???

also we are based in Ibstock does anyone have any good ideas of where to start is cannock chase the ideal starting place and if so is there are a charge to ride ?

all feedback would be great

many thx

Comments

• mgmvegas
    sorry forgot to say our budget is around £450 per bike !!!
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Its a nice bike. Some good parts, maybe a bit low on fork travel, but many like the geometry and ride.

Can you try them, not at least for size? Plus your wife may need slightly different sadlle arrangements ;-).
  • mgmvegas
    thx supersonic what does low on fork travel mean ??

also we have actually spotted the bike priced at £390 which my LBS will price match so i
    think this represents a better bargain than the £499 RRP ...
  • Hi All,
    Im in the same position, however I do have a slightly lower budget. Mgmvegas, may i suggest getting the v brake version of the commencal normal 09? The link below sells it for £250, and with the extra money, you can choose to speck up the bike in whatever area you require, e.g. forks,brakes or drivetrain. I am thinking of buying the commencal normal 09, and I have not had any experience of their bikes in the past, does any one hav any comments?

http://www.merlincycles.co.uk/?fn=produ ... goryId=129

Aswell as the Commencals, possibly try the specialized hardrock pro disc 09, or try a specialized rockhopper disc 08? :lol:
    Giant XTC 3 2009
  • mgmvegas wrote:
    we won't need to upgrade within 6 months if we get the bug ???

From my short experience...........impossible :wink: