Drinking and Riding?

gbs
gbs Posts: 450
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
As a newbie I find the process of pulling the bottle from the cage etc destabilising and quite unnerving. Any tips from the old hands would be appreciated. :?
vintage newbie, spinning away

Comments

• Slow Down my son :roll:
  • ......... and have your hands on the hoods rather than the drops or tops. It's easier to steer in a straight line.
  • carl_p
    carl_p Posts: 989
    Choose a quiet straight section of road and when you don't have a vehicle up your backside. Stop pedallind when you pull the bottle from the cage and when you put it back in the cage. Make sure you have a drinks bottle that will easily slide in and out. I

t will get easier and you'll soon be able to do it without even thinking.
    Specialized Venge S Works
    Cannondale Synapse
    Enigma Etape
    Genesis Flyer Single Speed

Turn the corner, rub my eyes and hope the world will last...
  • Frank the tank
    Frank the tank Posts: 6,553
    I tend also to use the bottle cage on the down tube as I find it easier to reach than the one on the seat tube, and swap the bottles when the downtube one is empty.
    Tail end Charlie

The above post may contain traces of sarcasm or/and bullsh*t.
  • gbs
    gbs Posts: 450
    I tend also to use the bottle cage on the down tube as I find it easier to reach than the one on the seat tube, and swap the bottles when the downtube one is empty.

Sounds like one handed juggling to me!
    vintage newbie, spinning away
  • oldwelshman
    oldwelshman Posts: 4,733
    Carl_P wrote:
    Choose a quiet straight section of road and when you don't have a vehicle up your backside. Stop pedallind when you pull the bottle from the cage and when you put it back in the cage. Make sure you have a drinks bottle that will easily slide in and out. I

t will get easier and you'll soon be able to do it without even thinking.