The Mrs

ariding1978
ariding1978 Posts: 3
edited March 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi,

I'm looking for some advice on which trails in the Lakes are suitable for my Mrs. I've been biking for the last 15 years but my girlfriend has just bought a bike and wants to get into it.

We saw the Whinlatter trail on the telly the other week and she seems quite up for it. It is a trail that I don't know anything about so I'm not sure how she will cope. Is it a bit of a jump for a total beginner?

I looked at the map on the FC website and it classes it as a red route... any one know where there are any Blues in the Lakes? Grizedale maybe?
I suppose we can always head out to Dalby for a blue if we need to but i really like the Lakes and I've not done too much riding up there recently...

Any thoughts gratefully recieved.

Comments

• miss notax
    miss notax Posts: 2,572
    Hello :D

I don't know these specific trails, but I was just going to say that definitely DON'T start her off on anything too much for her - guarenteed to put her off for life! She sounds really keen so give her a chance to enjoy it and master elements first. A red route assumes techical ability right? If she hasn't done much riding then might be a bit much?

My OH took me to Cwmcarn as one of my first trails and - needless to say - a major domestic and me walking the downhill section resulted.... :evil:

And don't, what ever you do, laugh. Very bad mistake!

Hope that helps!
    Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away....

Riding a gorgeous ano orange Turner Burner!

Sponsor the CC2CC at http://www.justgiving.com/cc2cc
  • Alex
    Alex Posts: 2,086
    Whinlatter's probably not the best place in the world to hit up for the first time mountainbiker.

Cannock's Follow the Dog, Coed Llandegla's Red or at a push, Grizedale's 'North Face trail' would be far better starting points.

By all accounts Whinlatter is a bit of a monster!