Genesis Croix de Fer

IanTrcp
IanTrcp Posts: 761
edited March 2009 in Road buying advice
For a variety of reasons I'm thinking about adding one of these to my (ahem) small collection. http://www.genesisbikes.co.uk/series/croix_de_fer

Has anyone here got one already? If so, is there sufficient clearance for mudguards? I'll change the tyres if necessary. And how do you find the bike generally? Anything I should be aware of?

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,243
    My next bike will definitively have disc brakes... I'm just waiting for the market to offer more options, at the moment there is very little. I think it's a great idea... especially for the UK, where roads are rubbish and rims are literally eaten by the pads in winter.

Reasonably priced as well. However, to answer your question, I have no experience with it, sorry!
    left the forum March 2023
  • Coyote
    Coyote Posts: 212
    I've got one!

I wanted a general purpose, do it all kind of bike, decent group set, fixings for guards & a rack etc. and fancied disc brakes too. So I had a good look around before Christmas and the Genesis was about the best match to all points.

I have fitted mudguards and they go on fine but.....I have size 9 feet and had real problems with toe overlap with the front guard fitted. This isn't too much of a problem under normal road riding conditions but it gave me a lot of grief off road. Just when you are looking for a bit of slow speed, close control to get you through a tricky bit, bang, your foot would hit the front guard and it all goes pear shaped!

I have now removed the full guard and fitted a crud guard instead and this cured the problem for me. It is still a close thing though so I would strongly reccomend a test ride if you possibly can, especially if you have big feet!. I use low in the price range double sided Shimano SPD's.