John 'o Groats - Gibraltar 22/06/09-27/07/09

John 'O Groats to Gibraltar 22/06/09-27/07/09
in aid of: Help for Heroes+guidedogs.org.uk

Well as you can see this is definately a big challenge. Im new to road riding having just bought a Giant Defy 1 and have decided to set myself this monumental task for the undertaking.

Im a firm believer that it is very possible,and want to pushmy boundaries ,im very fit at the moment with the planned trip after my Royal Marine selection weekend im hoping the trainging for that will pay off.
I want to push myself/see europe from another perspective/do something ive never heard of anyone doing before. I wont be using paniers but backpack with compact tent and all i need in a 50litre rucksack.

I know it sounds very ambitious but,i wouldnt be happy knowing that it would be anything less than 9/10 on the difficulty scale.

The reason behind this is that my cousin has recieved alot of help from Help for Heroes after an incident serving in afghanistan in which he lost his leg. The charity does fantastic work and can always do with more donations.

The second being a a charity which i think from my research does alot of good work for people who without their intervention would be lost.

So why have i put this on,well im looking for any7 advice/feedback/maybe even potential recruits to join me!

So what do you guys think?

Comments

• Best of luck mate. What a challenge.

My main bit of advice would be lose the rucksack and use panniers. Carrying a rucksack over that distance is going to kill your neck and shoulders as well as compromising your balance on the bike
    Flying Scot? You must be joking!
  • doug5_10
    doug5_10 Posts: 465
    Lose the rucksack, your spine will be mush!! Over that distance you might be best investing in a dedicated touring bike, perhaps with the ability to fit front panniers as well. Epic ambition, best of luck!
    Edinburgh Revolution Curve
    http://app.strava.com/athletes/1920048
  • doug5_10