Wheelbuilding advice wanted from other builders.

daddylonglegs
daddylonglegs Posts: 96
edited February 2009 in Workshop
Okay, I learned to build wheels twenty years ago when I worked as a mechanic at my local bike shop. During that time I probably built hundreds of wheels. Since I left I've kept my hand in over the years by occasionally repairing and building my own wheels.

The method I've always used to relieve spoke tension during a build is to use my hands to squeeze pairs of opposing spokes. I have also always laid the wheel on the floor or a solid surface and pushed down on the rim allowing it to flex slightly and giving any twists in the spokes a chance to unwind. I have never had a problem with this method.

Yesterday I was building a rear wheel using a Mavic 32 hole Open Sport with a standard 3x pattern. I was getting close to finishing when, while I was using the method described above to untwist the spokes the rim broke, coming apart at the join. One of the pins holding the rim together was pulled partially out and bent. Needless to say this brand new rim is a write-off.

Should this have happened? Have I just been lucky that it has never happened before? Is this method best avoided on cheaper, un-welded rims? Any comments from experienced wheelbuilders, Mavic reps(!?), wheel and rim experts and anyone else who think they can help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,706
    The method is fine. It sounds like you had a dodgy rim. Good job it broke when it did really, as if it hadn't I feel pretty sure it would have gone while riding.
  • The method for untwisting you describe works for me although some people say it puts undue stress on the bearings and flanges, which is probably true.

Did you use a tension meter? Even so the rim shouldn't have broken, and mavic are pretty good about warranty, so I doubt you'll have an issue.