My headset is ticking

Jamey
Jamey Posts: 2,152
edited February 2009 in Workshop
My headset makes a reasonably loud click when the handlebars are turned past the central position but it only does it when there is weight on the bike. If I get off the bike and just lift it up and turn the bars the click is barely audible, almost silent, but not quite.

Is this repairable (ie with a bit of extra grease) or do I need a new headset?

If I carry on riding the bike without doing anything, is there a risk I might damage something serious?

The headset was last serviced (bearings removed, cleaned, replaced, regreased) in September, five months ago. I'm no expert on headsets but I do know how to adjust them properly and it definitely wasn't that tight. It was as loose as possible yet still had no play in it.

According to the Specialized website my bike (pic in sig) has the following headest:
Specialized Mindset, 1-1/8" integrated threadless, steel cage bearings, 20mm alloy cone w/ 10mm alloy spacer.

If I need to get a new headset is it worth upgrading to try to increase the length of time before I need to mess about with it again? What would you recommend? I could do without needing to fiddle with the headset more than once a year, ideally.

Comments

• If you know how, strip it down and have a look to see if it needs replacing, if unsure post pics...
  • Jamey
    I was planning to replace my cables in about a month, which would be an ideal opportunity to do the headset since you need to remove the bars to do the headset and you need to release the cable to remove the bars (unless I heard wrong, but I was under the impression you shouldn't leave bars hanging by the cables)... But I don't have enough mechanical experience to be able to judge whether it's safe to leave the headset that long (a month or so) without attention.