Post Mount to IS Adapter Misalignment

rtw19
rtw19 Posts: 3
edited February 2009 in MTB workshop & tech
I'm new to this, but there is alot on here about caliper and adpater issues so here goes.

i've got giant mph3 brakes which are IS mount. i recently traded up some forks to a set of reba 2009's which are post mount. i got the bigger disc and the right a2z adapter but the calipers now appear to be slightly misaligned when trying to set up the bite on the disc.

the disc is brand new - perfectly straight. i can get the bite pretty close but i have noticed that the disc is rubbing on both pads of the caliper at once!!

if i run with this and wear the pads down till their right, will it be ok?

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    They can take a coupke of rides to bed in.

Which MPH3? Do they have the pad adjuster on the lever?
  • Post mount has many merits, but being non adjustable for alignment issues is a serious retrograde step.

The first thing to do is to try and make sure there is nothing obvious causing the misalignment. Unfortunately with the Reba, the mounting surface is covered in the powder coat surface and isn't even plain machined metal. This gives lots of potential for misalignment. Also, the Reba post mounts are very narrow giving very little register for the brake mounting. If there are any burrs or chips in the powder coat, these will knock everything out from the start.

None of the fittings are fitted with dowels or any other proven engineering solution for alignment, so there will be small amounts of play you can achieve at the bolted joints. You may be able to nudge the adaptor over and cure alignment.

Perfect alignment is when the rotor is centred in the slot of the caliper. It is nothing to do with clearance from the pads. With an aligned caliper if you push back the pads/pistons when they are next used they will self-align (unless a piston is sticking).