Disc brakes: Juicy 3 v's Shimano Deore M535

dac73
dac73 Posts: 15
edited February 2009 in The workshop
G'day Everyone,

I have been commuting to Work (in London) for the last 6 months on my Cannondale Bad Boy Ultra 08 hybrid bike - awesome! ... except during winter ...

I appreciate that this winter in particular has been pretty harsh so plenty of road grit has been thrown about and my poor Avid Juicy 3 disc brakes have copped a bit of a hiding in that they have been suffering from corrosion and starting to become unreliable. I appreciate I need to look after my bike and need to wash it frequently etc etc etc but my Rockhopper (of 7 years) has been completely reliable - I think they are Hayes disc brakes ...

I've heard some negative things about the Juicy 3 disc brakes so I'm considering changing my braking system to the Shimano Deore M535. I commute just over 100 miles a weeks so reliabilty is very important to me.

Has anyone else had problems with the Juicy 3 disc brake system? If so, have you replaced them with a different kit? If so, what?

Can anyone vouch for the reliabilty of the Deores? Have you had problems as well?

So many questions! Thank in advance for any advice given.

Cheers,

Dean

Comments

• I had a Deore disk on my front wheel on my old singlespeed which had no issues at all other than new pads over about a year with zero maintenance and cleaning.
    <a>road</a>
  • kr1s
    kr1s Posts: 125
    Ive run juicy 5's and 3's for the past 3 years and have had no serious issues

Pads can be a bit of a nightmare to replace and pads tend to wear fast if cheaper/softer compounds are used.

Ive heard of folk saying theirs have leaked but I havent had this problem, I just slacken the resovoir screw when I change the pads so as not to force to much pressure into the res.

If you have them on the bike and theyre OK id stick with em
    Trek Madone 5.2 08
    Specialized Tricross
    Scott Scale
    Twitter @ChrisBedford1
  • dac73 wrote: