Training plan for 80k sportive.. at the end of April

tobh
tobh Posts: 103
Hello

I am going to enter the Princes Risborough sportive on 26th April. And I need some advice on training...

I am new to road biking. And have taken up the challenge of riding the sportive with my big head work mate. He did the ride last year and came within the top 20. He rides 20 miles a day to and from work; I'd like to be able to keep up with him..

The training I currently do is as follows -

Gym - 3 times a week for weights and strength work and a little cardio.

Run - 3 times a week; 9 min miles usually 4 - 6 mile runs.

Weekend - either an additional mega session at the gym or, another run or usually a 3 hour mountain bike ride or recently a 1.5 hour road ride.

My road riding is appx 20 miles. With an average speed of appx 16mph (I'm getting used to the gears and the weather has been somewhat diabolical recently...)

I do some kind of activity six days a week. I'm a big chap.

Any advice ??

Ta

T

Comments

• Just start building on your current 20miles by doing a 25-30 mile road ride a week. After a couple of weeks increase to a 35-40 mile and say a week or so before the ride get in a couple of 50mile ones (which is about 80k I think..).

Id also replace a session or two of weights and running with pure cycling on the gym bikes for 30-40mins. Dont push too hard on these and if you do, make sure its 15-20 min into starting. And remember 10min cool-downs (very little effort).

Should be ok for the 80k then.

Remember on the longer rides to take food and plenty of drink. If you haven't done those kind of distances before you will need to be fueled up before, and during (easy to 'detonate'!)

Tim
  • tobh
    tobh Posts: 103
    what I thought I could do was -

Mon, Wed and Friday - Gym but with a 30 min treadmiill session, cut the weights a bit.

Tues and Thursday - road ride to station / commute 20 miles there and back.