Top improvement tips for a feeble beginner?

squelch
squelch Posts: 9
edited February 2009 in Road beginners
I'm new to cycling "properly" having just bought a fitness bike after many years of crappy second hand MTBs and such.

I do a ten-mile commute each way to and from work and I'm just loving it, but I've hit a bit of a plateau. I can't get inside 30 minutes no matter how hard I try.

Not that I'm getting all competitive about this or anything but I'd really like to get stronger and faster, so what would you guys recommend? Carry less weight in my rucksack? Get SPD shoes and pedals? Get some bigger gears? Or just man up, grit my teeth and push harder?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• First of all, Plateaux are common. Even if you carry on as you are, there will come a time when you burst through that barrier, as your bike fitness will kind of creep up on you. But here's my two-penn'orth

1. It is tougher to ride in the winter. It is colder. Objects move slower through cold air. so come the first bash of warm air, you will go faster.

2 SPD shoes and pedals certainly made me faster, as I was able to use different options in regards of pedal stroke. the first major improvement is that you can pull on the upstroke

3 Slick tyres - but of course, I would not recommend them in the winter, but for me, these made the greatest difference.

4 Short bursts of say 20 - 30 second stretches. Really go for it, then resume a comfortable pedallling cadence. This is a great way of improving cycling muscles whilst on the bike.

5 Bigger gears. Only if you find that in the highest gear, you find yourself wanting more gears.

6. Less weight in rucksack (and bodyweight) will mean that the effort you are putting in, takes you faster.

So, In order

Short bursts
    Pedals
    Less weight
    bigger gears
    slick tyres (but I'd reverse the last two once the rain, hail, sleet and snow abates

hope you find this useful
    The ultimate cruelty of love's pinions
    40427 Posts: 119