Do you need to stop at feed stations?

shakey88
shakey88 Posts: 289
Hi,i'm riding the puncheur on March 1st and it'll be my first sportive and my question is this.
Is it necessary to stop at feed stations?
What i mean is when i'm on my training runs i rarely stop unless if it's to nip to the loo(or behind nearest hedge) as i find if i stop it breaks up any rhythm i've built up and also i begin to cool down and i find it takes a while to get going again.
Is it not preferable to take your own supplies(gels,food,energy drink) and just keep riding to the end?
I'd like to know how more experienced cyclists play it on the sportive scene?
Thanks,Rich

Comments

• softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    shakey88 wrote:
    Is it necessary to stop at feed stations?

if you need to - it's necessary. Lots of factors (over which you have no influence) will decide that for you on the day....
  • toontra
    toontra Posts: 1,160
    Well, I'm not very experienced at sportives yet (only having done one!) but I've done a few audaxes and lots of 150+mile rides and I've learned to keep the breaks short. As you say, muscles tend to tighten up after more than 10 minutes or so and it takes a while to get going again.

On the sportive I did, the food was so good at the food stops that I lingered too long - if I'd cut each stop shorter by 5 minutes then I would have been on for the gold time. So this year.... :wink:

a serious case of small cogs
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667