Commuting to Farringdon Rd....

chuckcork
chuckcork Posts: 1,471
edited February 2009 in Commuting chat
I'm hopefully getting a job in EC1, on Farringdon Road, and subject to being able to lock up the bike was wanting to ride it in, but am unsure of the best route, can anyone advise.

I'm coming from Surbiton and am OK on my route up to Putney, after that though the routes suggested by Google Maps and TFL's cycling option diverge, the quickest driving route stays south of the river until Blackfriars Bridge, while the walking/cycling options are shorter and more direct and include the Kings Road, Chelsea Embankment and Lambeth bridge.

Any suggestions? I'm well aware that a shorter route can with increased stopping at lights be a longer one so would prefer the quickest route than the shortest, but I've no experience of riding in to the city further than Putney.

TIA.
'Twas Mulga Bill, from Eaglehawk, that caught the cycling craze....

Comments

• cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    Thought you were working in South London?

There's only one way, my friend: Embankment. 8) Welcome to the Embankment peleton. :D

From Kingston, I go through the Park, Lower Richmond Road, Putney Bridge, NKR, Embankment. You could then turn off at Blackfriars and go up Farrigndon Road - be careful though as there are some roadworks as you turn left off the junction/lights on the north side of Blackfriars Bridge/top of the slip road.
    FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
    "It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."
  • cjcp
    FCN 2-4.

"It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."
  • chuckcork
    cjcp wrote:
    Thought you were working in South London?

There's only one way, my friend: Embankment. 8) Welcome to the Embankment peloton. :D