I've reached a plateau!!

endurojcb
endurojcb Posts: 170
edited February 2009 in Health, fitness & training
I seem to have reached a plateau with my weight loss! I was 13st 4lbs on new years day, and have managed to shift a fair bit over the last month and got myself down to 12st 10lbs. I've had a nice steady weight loss of about 2lbs a week, but this week, I haven't managed to loose anything! I haven't eaten anything fattening or high in calories, just the usual stuff such as Weetabix, Salads, Chicken, lots of vegetables, and Quorn. No beer and plenty of water!

My training consists of weights for about 30-40 mins and a good 20-30 minute run (on a treadmill at the gym) ranging between 10 and 13 kmph. I've done this everyday this week, but haven't lost a gram of weight!

Can anyone give me any pointers as to where I'm going wrong or what else I can add to my routine??

Thanks.
2007 Merlin Malt 4

Comments

• djvagabon
    djvagabon Posts: 262
    I'm a personal trainer and this is very common. People tend to lose weight quickly at first as it just water retention.
  • Tino4444
    Tino4444 Posts: 281
    Hi,

Looking at your self do you still feel you need to loose more weight?

how tall are you?

Have you checked your BMI?

If you are lifting weights every day then you need to also take into account that muscle is denser than fat.

Tino.
    Speciallized Allez 09...great bike shame about the wheels!!
  • ednino
    ednino Posts: 684
    djvagabon wrote:
    I'm a personal trainer and this is very common. People tend to lose weight quickly at first as it just water retention.

nail on the head
  • Yep, still got the love handles and no visible sixpack! lol If I can get back down to 12st, I'll have the sixpack visibly back!

I've been drinking a lot of water, so I have to go to the toilet every 30-45 mins during the day.