Advice on gearing for L'Etape

enda01
enda01 Posts: 4
Hi, just joined. I note there is some excellent advice knocking around this forum excellent. Would greatly appreciate if you etape vets could advise on the gearing I will need to get up Ventoux. FYI: I'm not a novice to a bike - happy to ride for 3-4 h in a session - but neither am I an expert rider or racer. Main goal - get to finish in resonable time without halting or hiking on the steep gradients.

Comments

• Toks
    Toks Posts: 1,143
    Hi mate and welcome to the forum. You haven't eally given us much to go on. You say you can ride 3-4 hours in a session and you're not a novice. What gearing to use will pretty much be defined by your levels of fitness. Someone who can ride for 3-4 hours on hilly terrain @12-14mph will need access to lower gears to survive an etape where else another person who could breeze through a sportiv at 17-19mph average won't need such low gears. A compact or triple cassette would be my advice for the first type of rider and a double cassette with low 39-25/26 or 27 gearing may be better for the fitter guy. Or the fit guy could lso opt for a compact. Hopefully others will chip in with advice too. If you haven't checked it out already this guy always has good advice and tips
    http://www.etape.org.uk/
  • enda01
    enda01 Posts: 4
    Thanks Toks. Yes, I know I didn't give much info. - don't want to bore with my average stats - but your advice covers the options, and I think I'm probably between the two standards you mention. Compact crankset up front for me I think. I guess as I start serious hill work later in year, I can adjust to a triple if I'm struggling.
  • I did the Ventoux thing last year - rode up 3 times in one day from each of the three ways up. I don't know the rest of the Etape course.