Newbie!

TomSharples
TomSharples Posts: 6
edited January 2009 in Routes
Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie and will be investing in a Specialized rockhoper comp disc 2009 in a couple of weeks through the ride2work scheme.

I was just wondering if anyone knows of any good places to ride and build up my skills in and around the manchester area?

Thanks in advance everyone

Tom

Comments

• Peaks

Llandegla

Delemere
  • Cheers John I'll have to check them out.
  • Forest of Dean is meant to have good trails, not been there myself but have good write ups in magazines.
    2007 SPECIALIZED FSR XC COMP - sold
    2008 CANNONDALE F6 - CUSTOM BUILD - sold
    2008 TREK EX 9.5 - sold
    2010 SPECIALIZED ALLEZ ELITE
    2011 On One 456
    more coming soon!
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Depending on where you are in Manchester, take the train from Victoria to Todmorden in West Yorkshire.

It's absolutely littered with excellent trails, from the ridiculously easy to the manically technical.

Get yourself an OS map of the areas you're interested in and get planning?

Do you know where you can ride legally?
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • Hi Dave,

Im on the bolton side of manchester so its not that difficult to get into manchester.

I didn't know that it was illegal to ride in some places :?

Anyways i'll have to head over that way in a couple of weeks when I actually get the bike.

So excited can't wait to actually get it!

Tom
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Hi Dave,

I didn't know that it was illegal to ride in some places :?

Oh, yes!! It's not as simple as it seems - do your best to be a good ambassador for the sport and ride responsibly.