The whole quick release on fixed thing....

gtitim
gtitim Posts: 225
edited January 2009 in Road general
Pardon my ignorance but i'm new to the world of fixed wheel riding. I just got a new fixed wheel bike (another person who couldn't resist the Pearsons offer on the Tricross). I haven't been able to ride it yet because of illness but i'm keen to ride it fixed rather than singlespeed. However I like the idea of being able to flip the wheel over during a ride.

Is it bad to have a quick release skewer on the rear, assuming that I use a tuggnut and decent skewers and tighten it to the max?

Thanks for your advice. Sorry if this has been asked before.

Comments

• meagain
    meagain Posts: 2,331
    "Fine" I reckon, BUT surely the stock Tricross doesn't have a Q/R rear axle? Mine doesn't! And nor, I think, do most of the readily available off-the-shelf fixed rears?
    d.j.
    "Cancel my subscription to the resurrection."
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    It's fine with a chain tug on the drive side, but as a bove, i'm pretty sure the tricross has nutted axles
  • gtitim
    I intend on changing the wheels
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    If you have the chain tugs - then you would prob be OK. If you havent - then I'd not risk it.

I have a flip flop and I've never been arsed to change it from fixed. If I wanted single speed I'd just have not bothered changing gears on my normal bike.

And yeah - you'd need a new wheel built. Seems a lot of hassle to avoid some spanners.
  • gtitim
    Yeah thinking about it, it probably isn't worth it. Thanks for the advice guys.
  • ColinJ
    ColinJ Posts: 2,218
    What makes it more likely that you would pull a wheel loose on a fixed-wheel bike than one with a freewheel? Yes, I do realise that the consequences might be much worse on fixed so you wouldn't want it to happen.