Winter Snot Nose!

LeonZ
LeonZ Posts: 6
edited January 2009 in Road beginners
Hello

I'm new to road cycling but have done my reading of the odd forum and informed website, but there is still one problem i have not solved and that is winter snot nose! Its driving me mad, I get up on a sunday morning all enthusiastic about going for a ride, then 10minutes in and every 5minutes afterwards im having to blow my nose.

Does anyone have any idea of how to get round this problem other than use my gloves and breathe through my mouth, as it takes the fun out of the ride.

Cheers

Comments

• robmanic1
    robmanic1 Posts: 2,150
    The old "Indian hanky" works a treat (hint, always check for passing cyclists first), otherwise you could try nose clips like what them swimmers wear.
    Pictures are better than words because some words are big and hard to understand.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/34335188@N07/3336802663/
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Robmanic1 wrote:
    otherwise you could try nose clips like what them swimmers wear.
    Wouldn't your head just fill up to the eye sockets in snot this way? :shock:

Just snort it out - it feels wrong at first, but as long as you don't deliberately aim it at someone you'll be fine.
  • LeonZ
    To be fair, swimmers look pretty daft with the nose clips, im pretty sure the wife wouldn't let me leave the house if i tried to wear one, i'd look pretty crazy
  • Snot rockets. Im so good with them now I can put one up a flys bum from 10 feet :wink: . When I started riding again it was Summer and it took the Winter to arrive before I realised how handy the felt bit of the thumbs on my gloves are :shock:
  • robmanic1
    LeonZ wrote:
    To be fair, swimmers look pretty daft with the nose clips, im pretty sure the wife wouldn't let me leave the house if i tried to wear one, i'd look pretty crazy

Yes, but think of the aerodynamics!