Your thoughts on my fitness test in Richmond Park

Cubic
Cubic Posts: 594
edited January 2009 in Road beginners
Hi, I've been cycling for about four months now and I decided to test my fitness yesterday using the Ful-on-Tri (triathlon club) test of whether your good enough to join their weekend training rides. Basically they say that if you can do 4 laps of Richmond Park (28miles) in 1hr45 then you good enough to join in.

Well I did it in 1hr49, which was a bit annoying. I found it pretty tough going but I was happy that I got to the end. I have a few questions about the experience that I hope someone would answer:

1. I did my 4 laps clockwise around the park (x4 up Broomfield Hill!!!). Is that comparable to doing the same route anticlockwise?

2. It was pretty windy yesterday (headwind was particluarly strong between Roehampton Gate and Robin Hood Gate). Is that going to have had a big impact on my time?

3. I'm looking into joining a club and although I was a bit too slow for the FulonTri club runs, am I going to be fast enough for some of the other clubs (like the Dynamos) that meet in the park?

4. What times do fit cyclists do this route in?
As I said I've been cycling for 4 months and then only on the weekends, so I'm hoping to get my time down with a bit more training and some weekday rides.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Casbar
    Casbar Posts: 168
    Hi Cubic

First of all well done for giving it a go. To answer some of your questions

1) I always do this clockwise , but I have been told anti is slightly easier
    2) a strong headwind would make a difference , but that depends on how much tailwind you would have on the opposite side of the course
    4) I'm sure there are other clubs you could join
    3) to the best of my knowledge the best time for 3 laps anti-clock is about 48 minutes