riding back to back sportives (a week apart)

r3 guy
r3 guy Posts: 229
I am a novice when it comes to road bikes (ex/current mtber) so having just thrown down the cash for my first road bike i have decided to enter some sportives, there are two i really want to do but they are back to back weekends, the le terrier 90 odd miles and then the dragon 112 miles.

Do people do back to back sportives?

Comments

• Brian B
    Brian B Posts: 2,071
    Why not if you are fit enough. Just do a few recovery type rides in between. I find that I dont do back to back that often because of family and work comittments but nothing to do with fitness.
    Brian B.
  • r3 guy wrote:
    I am a novice when it comes to road bikes (ex/current mtber) so having just thrown down the cash for my first road bike i have decided to enter some sportives, there are two i really want to do but they are back to back weekends, the le terrier 90 odd miles and then the dragon 112 miles.

you could always try the Cyclone www.northernrockcyclone.co.uk on saturday 13th June and then the Dragon on the 14th if you want a real challenge :D
  • yogi
    yogi Posts: 456
    Can't see it being a problem if you are well prepared. I rode a hundred one Sunday and the Dartmoor Classic 100 the following, no problem, in fact I think it prepares you very well. Just don't do any long draining rides in the week between the 2 rides.

I'm doing the Dragon followed by the Dartmoor Classic this year but there is 2 weeks between the 2.
  • r3 guy wrote:

you could always try the Cyclone www.northernrockcyclone.co.uk on saturday 13th June and then the Dragon on the 14th if you want a real challenge :D
    the rides are back to back literally - two days in a row. This makes the challenge a little harder :shock:
  • richa
    richa Posts: 1,632
    Back to back weekend sportives works great. I usually try to ride 3 in May & 3 in June.
    Rich
  • dodgy
    dodgy Posts: 2,890