Need Help With My Bike?

mtb_novice
mtb_novice Posts: 24
edited May 2009 in MTB beginners
I have just brought a Giant Boulder Disc. As this is the first Mtb I have brought and I am new to it all, I am stuck with the gears?

Last time I rode a bike the gears were on top of the handle bars and went one way, or the other???

My bike has Sram x4 ? I am looking to actually find out how to use them properly, for road riding and some forest riding too.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Sam
If you see it, ride it, if you don't, you have already fallen off!

Marin Bobcat '10
Marzocchi Bomber Forks

Comments

• missmarple
    missmarple Posts: 1,980
    The SRAM range uses what is known as "trigger shifters" whereby pushing a lever under the handlebars with your thumb changes the gear, there will be 2 levers - dependent on whether you want to change the front or rear derailleur you either push the large lever to go up a gear and press the smaller "trigger" lever to snap it down to a lower gear.

It should be self explanatory really, the trigger's themselves should show you what gear they are on - highlighting a number in red.
  • deary1000
    deary1000 Posts: 14
    Sorry to drag this topic up but I've just got a rock hopper expert 09. And I'm slightly confused, should the larger thumb trigger always be used to go up gears and the smaller index finger be used to go down gears?

so basically when sat the bike the left hand triggers control the 3 the large gears at the front with the large thumb trigger being used to go up the gears and the small index trigger to go down again.

And...

on the right hand side triggers used to control the 9 smaller gears at the back. the large thumb trigger is used to go down gears and the smaller index is to go up?

I hope this all makes sense. I probably sound really stupid but i think I'm starting to confuse myself!
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Press the buttons and see what happens :D
    Faster than a tent.......