rust in the frame

TheHatter
TheHatter Posts: 122
edited January 2009 in Road general
I'm pretty new to old frames. I've just purchased an 88 Colnago and when I invert it you can hear what sound like a dozen or so specs of something moving inside the seat stays. The frame has no visible rust though there are plenty of areas touched up with paint but only consistent with the age and normal use. The seat stays are sealed where they meet the seat tube so theres no way of getting the bits out.
So is that sound sinister?
I'm probably going to get the frame resprayed outlaying about £150 so I don't want to do this if the frame is about to fall apart - will the people re-spraying the frame be able to tell anything when the frame is stripped of paint?
any advice gratefully received.

Comments

• meagain
    meagain Posts: 2,331
    Are there no heat escape holes near to the rear drop out end of the seat stays? There must I think have been some when frame built, but I suppose might have been sealed. Stripping it MIGHT give a clue as to any structural corrosion. Apart from the "rattle" does the rest of the frame sound "dull" if you hang it and ding it (a bit like playing a triangle!)? Can you feel inside the chain stays where they meet the b/b shell - usually worst place for rust?
    Without being able to flush the tubes/stays out, difficult to assess internal condition IMO/E.
    I have come across one or two frames that had been expensively re-finished but were in fact fit only for scrap. I cut 'em up before skipping to stop any further use!
    Just have to make best assessment that you can - without cutting out and replacing the stays only to find that the rest is as bad!
    It might OTOH be fine!!
    Thoughts only you understand.
    d.j.
    "Cancel my subscription to the resurrection."
  • TheHatter