Hi Guys, Newbie Here.

MatthewT1501
MatthewT1501 Posts: 9
edited January 2009 in MTB beginners
Just popped past to say Hi.
Just got myself a cheapo rig from Halfrauds in November.
Been out of MB'ing since 2001, so just getting back into it really, and loosing the beer belly I developed over the last 8 years! :)
I'm doing around 12 miles a day (not a lot I know, but it's my daily commute)
Also taken my stead to Savernake Forest a few times, on the forest trails.. :) (which BTW, was great fun!)

I have a quick Question about food though.
I set off at 7ish every day. It can take anything from 40 mins to an hour to get to work depending on the weather.
Thing is, when I leave having NO breakfast I feel awful by the time I get to work, then have to stuff my face when I get there.
When I have breakfast though, I'm almost throwing up along the route.
I'm having two weetabix things with milk for Brekkie.
Then when we go off road with the bikes we often take choccy bars, and crisps and stuff, but that can't be good riding food can it? I know you can get the energy bars, but are they a fad, or do that actually do some good?
It doesn't seem to keep you going for long.
Then when you run out of energy, it's like your fighting the bike all the way home... :( Which kinda takes the fun out of it.

Cheers.

Matt
There are only 10 types of people in this world.
Those that understand Binary, and those that don't.

Comments

• Welcome to the Forum

David
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    A bit of excercise before breakfast is a sure-fire way to burn off body fat and a couple of Weetabix when you get to work will be OK or some porridge if you have time. Try some dried fruit (apricots, pineapple etc) and nuts to eat while riding.

BTW, welcome to the forum.
  • .blitz wrote: