Cranham Woods

Reeco
Reeco Posts: 86
edited January 2009 in Routes
living where i do i cant find many places to ride that are even slightly challenging (though aprantly they are around but just very well hidden). but recently after asking around a bit i have heard some good things about cranham wood, im considering heading up there with my friend this weekend, but i was wondering if anybody else has ridden that area, and if they have what they think of it and if it is worth going there?
"Old Enough To Know Better, Young Enough Not To Care"

Specialized Hardrock 09
wethepeople Reason 08

Comments

• There's probably bits of Cranham I've not found yet, but I wouldn't class much of what I've ridden as really 'challenging'. Don't get me wrong it's fun enough but gets very boggy in places. Definately try to arrange to go with someone that knows the area and can show you the best directions to ride what's there- i'm fairly new to Cranham and find it hard to link up the best bits. Map's aren't much help as a lot of it isn't synced with marked paths on the maps. Definately try to go with someone!

If you combine Cranham with going over to Leckhampton Hill there's more variety and there's a lot of fun riding in a small area over at Leckhampton.

the most 'challenging' ride i've found locally is the last section (through the woods) that you hit if you do one of the classic routes on Malvern- very rooty, often steep singletrack- I'm no where near good enough to even think about cleaning that section- it's very technical
  • Reeco
    cheers, i have only realy been mountain biking this past year (well properly anyway) before that i was into bmx, so im not very good yet,So as long as it isnt another boring, foot path like ride i wont mind. just nice to have some variation.