Can i use WD40

ste123
ste123 Posts: 16
edited January 2009 in MTB beginners
Hey,
I was wondering wether i could use WB40 on my Rochsox dart 2 fork. Im new to mountain biking and i was wondering if it would help. Any answers greatly appreciated.Thanks

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    what do you want it to do?

all it is is a water displacer.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • ste123
    to make the fork more bouncy really. because when im riding after a while it seems to become very rigid sooo i was wondering wether it could help
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    to answer the first part of the question NO do not even go there.

have you read the manual? (downloadable from Srams webby)

turn the preload off. make sure the lock out is off and wind off the rebound
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • ste123
    ok thanks for your help
  • I use Gt85 on the top part of the forks, but dont allow that or WD to run down into the fork seals. Spray it on to a wrag first. It does sound as if the problem is more to do with pre load though. Good luck mate
    Another tree...another cracked rib!!
  • it could be the cold? the dart 3 on my bro's GT was as solid as a mutherhucker when i took it for a spin the other day. was ok once i got it back inside and warmed up.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Lube seals with teflon oil or fork oil. That is all.
  • bigbenj_08 wrote:
    it could be the cold? the dart 3 on my bro's GT was as solid as a mutherhucker when i took it for a spin the other day. was ok once i got it back inside and warmed up.

im having the same problem with my dart 3's aswell!! my mates suntour mz comps are working fine tho! :evil:
  • xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    to make the fork more bouncy really.