Keeping feet warm

anita100
anita100 Posts: 3
edited January 2009 in Road beginners
Hello
Dont know if anyone can help ... Am new to road cycling and have been out practically everyday during this cold weather - which has been great - but my feet have been like blocks of ice ! I have ordered some shoe covers Pro Endure neoprene but am also thinking of getting some winter boots ... the only problem is that there dont seem to be any that are women specific for winter. In your experiences will shoe covers suffice? and also have any women bought male boots and found them ok? Many thanks in advance

Comments

• Brian B
    Brian B Posts: 2,071
    Anita

I would not rush into buying boots just yet. The neoprene overshoes will make a BIG difference to the temp of your feet. I have been cycling through winter for a few years and I use overshoes and two pair of socks - one lightweight summer ones and a pair of winter thermal socks. Works for me even on long rides.
    Brian B.
  • I suppose a lot depends on how good your circulation is. I find when I'm walking or running, my feet never get cold as I assume the pounding promotes circulation.

However, on the bike, although I wear liner sock, Sealskinz, and overshoes, my feet are always freezing at the end of the ride. I'm sure they would be even worse if I did not have that combination of footwear, so they must do some good.

The thing I maight try next is replace the Sealskinz with some Smartwool (Merino) socks to see if that makes a difference.

DB
    Planet-X SL Pro Carbon.
    Tifosi CK3 Winter Bike
    Planet X London Road Disc
    Planet X RT80 Elite
  • gtitim
    gtitim Posts: 225
    Overshoes make a huge difference for me. I forgot to put them on yesterday and my feet were absolutely freezing!!!
  • bobtbuilder
    bobtbuilder Posts: 1,537