Newbie in Lincs

TigerSteve
TigerSteve Posts: 2
edited January 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi all, I'm a relative newbie when it comes to MTBing and having recently moved to Scunthorpe (no jokes plz lol) I'm looking to make contact with potential riding partners and get recommendations on good routes, areas and trails.

I'm 42 years old, looking to improve my fitness and get out and about. I am currently riding a GT Avalanche 2.0 and have visited Sherwood Pines on a couple of occasions. Having searched the web for MTB clubs in my area I've drawn a blank, so need your help to track down like minded people.

Any help, advice or links would be greatly appreciated.

ATB
Steve

Comments

• Hello Steve, I live in grantham/Barrowby and the only club in the area is witham wheelers. They do mountain bike, but not very often as they focus more on road rides. I have the viking way and jubilee way on my doorstep, I have put together some nice loops that mix road and trail totaling around 30+.

I am a solo rider aswell and I have been riding for about 4 years. I sometimes ride with a mate next door but he's a lazy ass and my fitness levels tend drop off because of it. Some new riding partners are put off by my riding, probably why next door needs so much encouragement (BEER) lol.

If your interested in coming to my neck of the woods send me a pm.

cheers,

Paul.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Wow, Scunthorpe makes it through the swear filter!

While lincs is relatively flat, you are very close to a lot of stuff in Yorkshire - Peaks, Wharncliffe, Moors, Wolds so if you can travel you have a wealth of riding very close by.
  • welcome to the forum.

David
  • Hi Steve

OS Explorer maps 280, 281 & 282 have the local area in them.

I try to do the following 20 miler a couple of times a week (weather & work permitting!!)