Orange 5 - Brakes / Forks

scoob113
scoob113 Posts: 80
edited December 2008 in MTB buying advice
If you were going to get an Orange 5 Pro, and you had a choice of brakes, would you take the standard Hope Tech X2's?
Or would you opt for the Tech M4, Tech X2 Pro's or Tech V2 instead ? The latter three are all cost options, although the brakes themselves generally seem to not be that much more if you bought them stand-alone.
What would you get and why ?

And while I'm at it - choice of Fox 32 Float R or RLC, RLC gives you Low Speed Compression and Lockout control at expense of money, weight and more things to go wrong.

Tried a lot of Googling on this and got nowhere. All the brakes seem to just be "weight from nnn grams" rather than telling you what weight they are. And the forks I have no experience of one way or another.

Thoughts welcome.

Comments

• iloper
    iloper Posts: 13
    hi!

i can only help you with the fork. The RLC model is just the more expensive one. Most of the time you wont miss those features... :wink:
    Orange P2 Custom
  • Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    Forks, go for the RLC (I have the Float R, couldn't afford the RLC) as you will have a much more adjustable fork and the compression can dial out the little bit of brake dive you sometimes get. There's not that much weight difference between the forks to be noticeable anyway.

My Float R's (had 2 pairs, 1st set were nicked a few months ago) have performed flawlessly, without any servicing.

Brakes, MBUK tested the Hope Tech X2 and loved them. I know 2 users of them and they love 'em too.

I have the '07 mono mini's and they're damn good brakes.
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • Thanks for the replies guys.

I'll go look out the X2 review - it's in one of my old mags and on the Net too.
    Forks, back to balance between extra function vs extra money/things to go wrong. Hmm.
  • grantway
    grantway Posts: 1,430
    I have the Mono 4's and better for braking on descents