What Rear Sus?

throttlemonkeyy
throttlemonkeyy Posts: 9
edited January 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi,
I wouldn't say im new to biking but to be honest i dont have a clue about rear suspension. Looking to buy a "RockShox Monarch 4.2 Rear Shock (2008)". Now the only problem i have with buying this shock is the diffirent sizes. What do they all mean?

165x38mm
190x51mm
200x51mm
216x63mm

Will only a certain size fit the frame of my bike? If so how do i check to be absolutely sure im buying the correct one?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers
Dane

Comments

• what bike is it for?
  • Its a Specialized FSR XC i thinks it the 2006 or 2007 model
  • you need to measure the length of the existing shock from eye to eye (the first figure), and the length of the shaft on the shock (the second figure).

i think on that bike it should be 7.5''X1.75'' (about 190 X 50mm)
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Hi,
    I wouldn't say im new to biking but to be honest i dont have a clue about rear suspension. Looking to buy a "RockShox Monarch 4.2 Rear Shock (2008)". Now the only problem i have with buying this shock is the diffirent sizes. What do they all mean?

165x38mm
    190x51mm
    200x51mm
    216x63mm

Will only a certain size fit the frame of my bike? If so how do i check to be absolutely sure im buying the correct one?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers
    Dane

The second figure is actually the nominal stroke of the shock from fully extended to fully compressed, not the length of the shaft.

You also need to factor in the correct mounting hardware too, as the shock will not come with any. Your best bet is to ask whoever you're buying it from.
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • BOYDIE
    BOYDIE Posts: 528
    FSR Xc is 165x38.Its a 100mm travel bike,make sure you get the right size mounting hardware for it.