New biker here

rob101
rob101 Posts: 10
edited January 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi all, just bought a GT aggressor xc3 09 model. I wanted this bike, well the 08 model for ages. Reason why is along time ago 10 years I borrowed a GT bike of a mate, cant remember what model it was apart from it cost about £1000 and it was amazing.
The guy in halfords was a carrera fan and said for the same money £349 I could have a better bike. Is this true?

So I am a complete beginner to mtb scene my only experience is 3-4 years of BMX in my teenage years.

The bike is in the box and needs building so any tips on doing this?

And any other advice appreciated

Comments

• xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    Hi and welcome to the world of MTB-ing.
    The guy in halfords was a carrera fan and said for the same money £349 I could have a better bike. Is this true?
    No, that's not true, for a 2009 model I think you've bought a nice bike with hydro brakes
    for a nice price. :)
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    nice bike, and welcome, good luck building the bike, if you have any particular problems, post your questions in the workshop thread and there are dozens of folk around who are well versed in bike building.

once its built (or before if you fancy!) go to this thread so we can all have a look at it. (im sure you will turn into a bike pervert at some point soon too.) :lol:
  • rob101
    Ok thanks guys. I did a fair bit of research bfore making my choice and the GT bikes did seem to be quite popular.

Hmmm the build of the bike is just wheels on and seat on or is it? Not even looked in the box yet.

Will post up loads of pics for you all.

Merry xmas
  • Hey, Happy Christmas :)

I have what is essentially the same bike as you (same frame a tleast) and i can tell you that its a super frame.

With regards to putting it together THIS may help :)

Enjoy.
    B
  • rob101
    Phew looks easy hope my bike is similair to put together, thanks for the link