Newbie seeking advice on clippy-pedals

SlightlyFuzzy
SlightlyFuzzy Posts: 18
edited January 2009 in Road beginners
Hi Folks,

I'm newly signed up, but have spent some time browsing the forums here - loads of useful info and lots of (mostly) friendly folks :o [some interesting discussions!]
Apologies if this has been covered already, I imagine it has and I've overlooked it!

I've been cycling for quite a few years, but never bought into spd's/clipless pedals when they first appeared. I recently bought a Giant SCR4 and it came with toe clips - I thought this might be a good opportunity to become accustomed to being attached to the pedals before investing in the high-tech stuff.
Is this a wise move?
Reason I ask - I'm now finding it quite natural to get my feet into the toe clips whilst riding, but I'm going to have to learn a new method of 'clipping in' when I get the new pedals (and shoes) - should I just cough up now?

One thing that has spurred me into action is that tonight my left foot slipped straight off the pedal after I started out from traffic lights. My right foot was in the toe-clip and my weight went that way....BIG wobble.... could've been quite nasty if the driver behind wasn't the patient type...
Not sure if I'd stepped in some diesel/oil, but the pedals themselves also seem quite slick when wet. Skinned my shin, dented my pride and knocked my confidence :cry:

Any advice would be muchly appreciated, thanks.

Comments

• Mister W
    Mister W Posts: 791
    IMHO clipless pedals are far easier and safer than using toe clips and straps. In a crash your foot is more likely to come off a clipless pedal than it is to come off a pedal if you're using toe clips and straps............ unless the strap is really lose, which negates one of the points of using them. So, give them a go. I've got some totally numpty friends who have managed to get used to them so you should have no problems.