Great Yorkshire Bike Ride on a hybrid bike

Tino4444
Tino4444 Posts: 281
edited January 2009 in Road beginners
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the site and I am very new to cycling (8 weeks).

In June 2009 I am going to be entering the Great Yorkshire Bike Ride (72 miles approx). I have just bought a Carrera Subway 2 from Halfords which is running great so far. I have upgraded the bike so it now features slick tyres pumped upto 100PSI, bar ends and plastic clips on the ends of my pedals.

I am currently averaging a mile every 15 minutes over 20 miles on fairly mixed routes i.e plenty of hills and flats.

However, the bloke which I am entering the Great Yorkshire Bike Ride with has been riding on and off for a few years and has a road bike with dropped bars etc.

My question to you is am I in for some pain trying to keep up with him even if I train 3 to 4 times per week between now and June?

I know its the engine that pushes the bike (me) but do road bikes really make the rider potentially that much faster?

Your advice would be greatly recieved.

Thanks,

Martin
Speciallized Allez 09...great bike shame about the wheels!!

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,712
    4mph average? Are you sure?
  • Tino4444
    No, 15 mph over a 20 mile run
  • Elganesh
    Elganesh Posts: 143
    That all depends on how hard your willing to push yourself and whether your friend is willing to cycle at a pace that you can cope with.

The good thing is, you've set yourself a goal to aim for and you've got a decent amount of time to achieve it. I suspect that your capable of achieving more than the 4mph you currently average.