Boardman v Specialized Allez

alanmck1971
alanmck1971 Posts: 85
edited December 2008 in Road beginners
I would like peoples honest opinion. I am fairly new to Road bikes

I am looking to buy either a Boardman Comp 08 from Halfords or Specialized Allez 09 from LBS.

I have read great reviews about Boardman bike which bike has the better spec.

I am in a bit of a dilema: I could go ahead and buy the Boardman for £440 or awit until next summer and buy the Allez in the cycle to work scheme.

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    What price do you put on not having a road bike for 6 months or so ?
  • I have a winter bike so not an issue. I know the Boardman bikes are a great price as they are 08 and if I don't buy within next few days I will miss out. The Spezialised looks a great bike but I am new to all the bike speck and bike talk. I would like to know if the Boardman is a better bike or are they about the same.
  • cougie
    If I were you - I'd go and check out the Boardman in the flesh and see if you can get a go on it.

Its got great reviews - so you wont go wrong if you get it. Just make sure you get fitted ok for it.
  • Theses were the two I was torn between, The Boardman is great spec for the cash but I just couldn't get over the fact it's a 'Halfords' bike and every body knows it.

Sippose that puts me into the bike snob section!! Oh well.

Got mine on the cycle to work Scheme also, overall teh bikew will cost me £520 and I get 17.5% worth of free accessories to RRP value of the bike so that a further £130. I suppose if I take into consideration the free accessories the bike only cost me £390!!!!!! for an Allez Sport 09!!
  • cougie
    My mate bought a Specialized last month - he's ridden it three times and its broken twice - disk brake had problems and the rear mech collapsed. So the big name is no guarantee of quality.
  • alanmck1971
    alanmck1971 Posts: 85
    edited December 2008
    Thanks for replies keep them coming.