new Cardiff rider

plasticflower
plasticflower Posts: 25
edited January 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi There. I'm a 30 something (!) female who moved to Cardiff a few months ago from Plymouth. Have done a bit of off roading, (Dartmoor, Cornish Heritage trail) but guess I'm still a newbie at mountain biking. Still getting to grips with the technical stuff and getting used to falling off!

Looking for people to ride with. I travel to Swansea a lot as family live there and fancy trying the Afan trails. Anything suitable for beginner?

Anyone want to meet up for any riding? I work shifts so have time off in week as well as weekends.

Comments

• from cardiff there are a few trail centers and if you have access to a car the breacon beacons north, i don't live in the area any more though my folks do.
  • Penhydd at Afan is very good. Not too difficult for a beginner either. Alternatively if you follow the taff trail out of the city centre you can get some practice in the woods around castle coch. Not as good as Afan but some nice trails nonetheless.
  • canada16
    canada16 Posts: 2,360
    Hey

I live in cardiff, and none of my friend bike.

I have done cwm carn so far and looking to go to more places.

PM me let me know, but can only go on saturdays as family commits
  • another one that has also moved to the dark side :wink: I'm pretty close to cwmcarn, and am pretty fit after 3 years of road TTing, but suspect that its a bot too much first time out especally on a busy saturday. What are the best routes at Afan or Brecon Beacons given I dont want a family n kids day out route, so something that is going to demand high physical effort but not too much technical skill...well maybe no technical skill :D
  • breacon beacons is fair old area, at this time of year if your not used to the area, care is needed as the weather can close down very quickly, this said some lovely routes such as the pre roman droving road to Breacon. grab a map, and some mates and explore.