Is Prog Rock ALWAYS Wrong..?

CHRISNOIR
CHRISNOIR Posts: 1,400
edited November 2008 in The bottom bracket
It’s always been the mantra of my youth (and beyond) that Prog Rock was inherently evil and anyone who listens to it must be either a beardy CAMRA type, a posho or Jeremy Clarkson.

Now, I love a bit of Ramones, MC5 and Velvet Underground as much as the next man but recently I must confess to feeling a bit Prog Curious. I’m not a total newbie here - my first gig at age 12 was Rush (it’s a miracle I persevered with music to be honest…). Are those Gabriel-era Genesis re-issues worth buying? Should I say ‘No’ To ‘Yes’? Or should I just put ‘White Light / White Heat On’ and dismiss these feelings as just a phase?

Yours Sincerely.
Confused

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,702
    Friends don't let friends do prog rock. Just say no.
  • CHRISNOIR wrote:
    It’s always been the mantra of my youth (and beyond) that Prog Rock was inherently evil and anyone who listens to it must be either a beardy CAMRA type, a posho or Jeremy Clarkson.

Now, I love a bit of Ramones, MC5 and Velvet Underground as much as the next man but recently I must confess to feeling a bit Prog Curious. I’m not a total newbie here - my first gig at age 12 was Rush (it’s a miracle I persevered with music to be honest…). Are those Gabriel-era Genesis re-issues worth buying? Should I say ‘No’ To ‘Yes’? Or should I just put ‘White Light / White Heat On’ and dismiss these feelings as just a phase?

Yours Sincerely.
    Confused

YES.
    Not really - I say F*ck it and listen to what you want.
  • ogre
    ogre Posts: 50
    Listen to the Cardiacs and then you'll change your mind
    Dry and warm days - FCN - 2

Dark wet cold - FCN - 7
  • RhysD
    RhysD Posts: 105
    well i'm a fully paid up MC5/Stooges/VU/Ramones etc nut, but I always have time for "The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway". Try it. You might like it.